The public can nominate persons from all walks of life who they believe deserve to receive the country's highest honours in April next year.



The Presidency has reminded members of the public that they have until 15 September 2016 to submit their nominations for the National Orders.

The National Orders awards will honour South Africans and eminent foreign nationals who have contributed to the achievement of a free, united, non-racial, democratic, non-sexist and prosperous South Africa in various ways.

“Also honoured are citizens who have sacrificed life and limb to save others and those who have excelled in various fields. The ceremony contributes towards unity, reconciliation and nation-building,” The Presidency said.

The selection process of the awards will be processed and administered by the National Orders Advisory Council appointed by the President of the Republic.

There are six orders that are bestowed to deserving recipients. They include:

  • The Order of Mendi for Bravery recognises South African citizens who have performed acts of bravery.
  • The Order of Ikhamanga recognises South African citizens who have excelled in the fields of arts, culture, literature, music, journalism and sport.
  • The Order of the Baobab recognises South African citizens who have contributed to community service, business and economy, science, medicine and technological innovation.
  • The Order of Luthuli recognises South African citizens who have contributed to the struggle for democracy, nation-building, building democracy and human rights, justice and peace as well as for the resolution of conflict.
  • The Order of Mapungubwe recognises South Africans who have excelled and attained exceptional achievement to the benefit of South Africa and beyond.
  • The Order of the Companions of OR Tambo recognises eminent foreign nationals for friendship shown to South Africa. It is therefore an Order of peace, cooperation and active expression of solidarity and support.

Nominations forms are available on The Presidency's website at  Members of the public are urged to attach a short motivation on the person nominated.  

Self-nomination or the nomination of public servants is not permissible. – Source: