Yellow Fever Certificates


Yellow fever certificate is required only if the applicant is passing through yellow fever belt area (or has travelled to a yellow fever country previously) before entering South Africa.

Vaccination should be approved by the World Health Organization (WHO) and administered at least 10 days before departure for South Africa at any yellow fever approved vaccination centers as the vaccine offers protection 10 days after administration. If vaccination is administered less than 10 days before departure, traveler may be refused entry.

Please submit your yellow fever certificate(s) with your applications for a visa if you have passed through or travelled through and of the countries listed below:

 Countries Falling Within the Yellow Fever Belt:


Central and South America

  • Angola
  • Benin
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Congo
  • Cote d'Ivoire
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Ethiopia
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Kenya
  • Liberia
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Southern Sudan
  • Sudan
  • Togo
  • Uganda

P        Argentina

P        Bolivia

P        Brazil

P        Colombia

P        Ecuador

P        French Guyana

P        Guyana

P        Trinidad and Tobago

P        Panama

P        Paraguay

P        Peru

P        Surinam

P        Venezuela