Suspension of Transit Visa Requirements for All Countries


The Minister of Home Affairs of the Republic of South Africa has decided to suspend transit visa requirements for all countries with immediate effect, pending further study into International best practices relating to transit visas.

Persons making use of the transit area of South African ports of entry do not require any transit visa.  However, should a person wish to leave the transit area and enter the Republic, a visitor's visa should be obtained at the South African Mission abroad prior to proceeding to a South African port of entry.  These measures are only applicable to foreigners who require visas to enter the country.