Previous Messages and Announcements:

* Travelling to South Africa (updated 19 October 2020).

* South African borders open on 01 October 2020.

* LOSA office hours adjusted on 29 September 2020.

* Repatriation flights from Dubai (updated 09

   September 2020)

* Repatriation flights from Dubai (updated 17 August


* Repatriation flights from Doha (updated 07 August


* Repatriation Flights from Dubai (updated 28 July


Application for Self Quarantine.

* Repatriation flight from Doha (updated 14 July 2020)

* KLM Repatriation Flights (updated 09 July 2020)

* URGENT NOTICE: Repatriation Flight Information

   (03 July 2020).

* Repatriation Flights from Doha. (03 July 2020)

* Repatriation Information (23 June 2020).

* DIRCO Newsletter on the Repatriation (21 May 2020).

Liaison Office of South Africa to co-host International Mandela Day with Tzu-Chi Foundation


Please note that South African borders remain closed it is only flights that have been approved by South African authorities that may enter South Africa.


The South African Missions in Dubai is currently NOT aware of further repatriation flights from the UAE to South Africa.  In this regard the Missions awaits notification from South Africa should future repatriation flights be planned.


Please note that with effect from Monday, 18 May 2020, the Liaison Office of South Africa will return to 5-day work week (Monday to Friday). Consular hours are from 10:00 to 13:00.

"Second automatic 30-day extension for foreigners entering Taiwan on or before March 21 with visa waiver, visitor visa, or landing visa (no application required) (overstayers excepted)



The Liaison Office of South Africa (LOSA) in Taipei will implement the following precautionary measures due to the COVID-19 pandemic, with effective from Wednesday, 25 March 2020 until further notice:


 P         LOSA operational hours are from 10h00 to 13h00 on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays.

P         Visa Section will remain closed until further notice V passport collection only

P         Consular services will be rendered to South African Nationals


For any emergencies ONLY outside of these hours please call 093 218 8084


With immediate effect and until further notice the following will be in effect:


1. No VISAs will be issued by the Liaison Office of South Africa.

2. Previously granted visa have been revoked.


South Africa is imposing a travel ban on foreign nationals from high-risk countries such as Italy, Iran, South Korea, Spain, Germany, the United States, the United Kingdom and China as from 18 March 2020.

Visas to visitors from those countries from today and previously granted visas are hereby revoked.


South African citizens are advised to refrain from all forms of travel to or through the European Union, United States, United Kingdom and other identified high-risk countries such as China, Iran and South Korea.


This is effective immediately.


Government will continue to regularly issue travel alerts referring to specific cities, countries or regions as the situation evolves based on the risk level.


Any foreign national who has visited high-risk countries in the past 20 days will be denied a visa.


South African citizens returning from high-risk countries will be subjected to testing and self-isolation or quarantine on return to South Africa.


Travelers from medium-risk countries - such as Portugal, Hong Kong and Singapore - will be required to undergo high intensity screening.

All travelers who have entered South Africa from high-risk countries since mid-February will be required to present themselves for testing.

*International Mandela Day-2019*

* Voting Abroad-Announcement (20190425).

* Final reminder.

* IEC Communiqué 26 February 2019:

* "If registered inside South Africa then it is not necessary to register again at

    LOSA"...more info.

* A Message from Head of Mission (20190131).

* Voter Registration Information 2019 (Updated-28 January 2019)

* A message from Taipei City Police Department (TCPD) about  home security during

    Lunar New Year.

* Announcement - Voter Registration 2019.

* Amended Advisory for travelling with minors (effective 01 December 2018)

* Announcement - Office Closure (20181212).

* Announcement-Out of country registration for 2019 Elections.

* 2018 Africa Culture, Products and Services Exhibition.



  a Message by Representative Seraki Matsebe.


  by Representative Seraki Matsebe.


* South Africa's Heritage Month 2018.

* Discontinuation of Temporary Passports.

* Revised South African Yellow Fever Policy.

* Amendment to International Health Regulation, Annex 7 (Yellow Fever).

* Announcement about Mandela Day activity.

* Message from Head of Mission on Nelson Mandela Day.

* Statement by President Ramaphosa.

* Announcement about Election 2019.

* Notice about document collection at DIRCO.

* South African Revenue Service-Media Release.

* Announcement regarding Long-term Port of Entry Visa (for spouses of South African Nationals).

* Message from Head of Mission on Africa Day.

* Message from Head of Mission about CPUT & UNISA.

* Message from Head of Mission on Human Rights Day.

* Out of country registration for 2019 Elections.

* Call for nominations for Wardens.